Author Topic: Interactive in-game [GUI] / Holographic Building  (Read 814 times)

Offline Nightshades on: June 24, 2015, 06:03:50 PM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Likes: 1
  • Gender: Male
  • You can't match my ASM skills if you are beginner.
  • AwardsFor helping with translations
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Hi everyone i had two idea that could be pretty cool for this type of game.

If you either played doom 3 or used GTK Radiant to make Doom 3 map(s), then you may remember that Doom3/Quake 4 had very nice Interactive GUI for exemple in doom 3.

The nice KeyPad (when you where hovering the texture (textured on the geometry face), this was displaying the chrossair on the texture itself (small cursor) so you could click on the button (from the texture) and input the password of the keypad that was a pretty good feature in-game and there was alot of interaction on texture.

(GUI - Interaction Texture) can be used to trigger action of self-object such as door or un-linked object, just a nice way to trigger something.

Second Idea is the hollographic building, took the idea of "Red Alert Online", this was pretty cool to make a huge "fake base" by building false structures which granted the advantage to "spoof a secondary base" while it's only fake building and not really the real base lol.

In murnatan this could be tricky on huge map to do this kind of thing, for a gameplay reason the building would look's like Holographic ( textured / transparent) from the Human-Side (texture need to be blur/blue to look's holographic, or you can do it in green as well) from the Alien Side this would look's like real building !

Alien Sensor detect all closed range building, what about messing around with their sensor and making mass fake building to annoy their sensor :P
« Last Edit: June 24, 2015, 06:13:53 PM by Nightshades »
Hacking (IDA 6.4)(Custom Cheat Engine)(Ollydbg)(Visual Studio) and ENG - FR Translator !

Offline Rotacak #1 on: June 27, 2015, 12:50:44 AM

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 702
  • Likes: 14
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Can you give me link to youtube video where is that interactive gui? I like to see it.

About holographic buildings - I think that is good for some additional mods, not for default game.

Offline Nightshades #2 on: June 27, 2015, 01:28:19 AM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Likes: 1
  • Gender: Male
  • You can't match my ASM skills if you are beginner.
  • AwardsFor helping with translations
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Can you give me link to youtube video where is that interactive gui? I like to see it.

About holographic buildings - I think that is good for some additional mods, not for default game.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t_TFxxFfFVw Have a look here, it's one of hundred GUI.

https://youtu.be/gW1F0ZcU_Oc?t=3851 You also have 2 GUI there, health,unlock GUI on the map.

https://youtu.be/gW1F0ZcU_Oc?t=1106 Here playing with a crane (removing gas barrel) in order to unlock the room, with nice GUI).
« Last Edit: June 27, 2015, 01:39:20 AM by Nightshades »
Hacking (IDA 6.4)(Custom Cheat Engine)(Ollydbg)(Visual Studio) and ENG - FR Translator !

Offline Rotacak #3 on: June 27, 2015, 10:06:53 PM

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 702
  • Likes: 14
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
I see, nice, now it is clear. Useful for complicated things in maps.

Offline Loki #4 on: March 10, 2018, 04:53:18 PM

  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 705
  • Likes: 3
  • Gender: Male
  • Awards
    2
    4
    • View Profile
    • Awards
how come I found out about this one just now, damn that'd be neat, if you could program certain human structures to behave in a certain way, imagine overpowering turrets (for increased draw of energy [BP] from the reactor) for the sake of lower amount of structures as the RC is being stressed more than standardly? via an interactive GUI on the defense computer*
« Last Edit: March 11, 2018, 09:33:01 AM by Loki »

Offline Machine Medic #5 on: March 11, 2018, 03:48:55 AM

  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
  • Likes: 12
  • Gender: Male
  • Been there. Done that.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Quote
overpowering turrets

I can just see it now...

[SYS] HAOS Systems (TM) Model 500 defense computer on-line.  Awaiting user input...
-> Login Natan
[SYS] Enter password for user 'Natan':
-> ******
[SYS] Password accepted.  Welcome 'Natan'.
-> Arm turrets
[SYS] Powering up turrets...
[SYS] Turrets armed
-> Run TURRET_OVERCLOCK.EXE
[SYS] WARNING!  Unauthorized software detected - this will void your warranty!  Continue?  Y/N
-> Y
[OC.EXE] Turret overclocker running.  Stand by...
[OC.EXE] Stand by...
[OC.EXE] Error!  Error!  Er-@%^./
« Last Edit: March 11, 2018, 04:26:28 AM by Machine Medic »
2x 980ti @1.3GHz, 5820k @ 4.4GHz, 32GB DDR4 @ 2.4GHz, SSD 950 512GB & 850 1024GB.

=\Co-Leader of Contra Clan/=

Offline Loki #6 on: March 11, 2018, 09:33:56 AM

  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 705
  • Likes: 3
  • Gender: Male
  • Awards
    2
    4
    • View Profile
    • Awards
[SYS] WARNING!  Unauthorized software detected - this will void your warranty!

"I'D RATHER NOT"