Author Topic: Refinery  (Read 2328 times)

Offline BillyRazOr on: December 06, 2012, 03:02:57 PM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Likes: 1
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • My Trem Mapping blogspot
    • Awards
I have an idea. How about some refinery?? Refinery is for increase build points when bp is lacking, if refinery are destory by aliens, the bp is 0. Unless if some person want to build it more, the bp will come back.

One important thing is in N7 server have refinery for buildable, but it cannot build so near and must enough far for places. So I have to decided this latest game will have refinery ever and ever, no matter how far or near to build it, it also will support.

Hope everyone will understand for my logic.  :D

Offline Rotacak #1 on: December 06, 2012, 03:46:40 PM

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 712
  • Likes: 14
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
We do not plan this in default game, but of course it is nice idea.

I have only one question:
- Lets say that one refinery will add 10 BP, for example.
- I will build 10x refinery (100 BP).
- I will build 10x building (cost 10 BP each, so 0 BP left).
- Aliens will destroy 10 refinery (-100 BP).
- Now I need to build 11 refinery when I want to build anything?

Offline Gunther #2 on: December 06, 2012, 05:02:08 PM

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 245
  • Likes: 4
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
We do not plan this in default game, but of course it is nice idea.

I have only one question:
- Lets say that one refinery will add 10 BP, for example.
- I will build 10x refinery (100 BP).
- I will build 10x building (cost 10 BP each, so 0 BP left).
- Aliens will destroy 10 refinery (-100 BP).
- Now I need to build 11 refinery when I want to build anything?

Nalf can explain all of this.

The refinery is a cute idea, making it "unlimited-like" while still being limited. I do find it good that teams have to work for their BP instead of stopping because of too much+SD, or too little BP=only one builder. It meets in the middle between too little and all-you-can-eat.
Now you see me...now you don't...headshot

Offline Loki #3 on: December 06, 2012, 07:55:08 PM

  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 707
  • Likes: 3
  • Gender: Male
  • Awards
    2
    4
    • View Profile
    • Awards
We do not plan this in default game, but of course it is nice idea.

I have only one question:
- Lets say that one refinery will add 10 BP, for example.
- I will build 10x refinery (100 BP).
- I will build 10x building (cost 10 BP each, so 0 BP left).
- Aliens will destroy 10 refinery (-100 BP).
- Now I need to build 11 refinery when I want to build anything?

Each refinery adds 10 BP but it costs 10 BP? Or I didn't understand.

Offline Rotacak #4 on: December 06, 2012, 08:39:43 PM

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 712
  • Likes: 14
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
We do not plan this in default game, but of course it is nice idea.

I have only one question:
- Lets say that one refinery will add 10 BP, for example.
- I will build 10x refinery (100 BP).
- I will build 10x another building (cost 10 BP each, so 0 BP left).
- Aliens will destroy 10 refinery (-100 BP).
- Now I need to build 11 refinery when I want to build anything?

Each refinery adds 10 BP but it costs 10 BP? Or I didn't understand.
Fixed for you.

Offline Loki #5 on: December 06, 2012, 10:05:30 PM

  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 707
  • Likes: 3
  • Gender: Male
  • Awards
    2
    4
    • View Profile
    • Awards
We do not plan this in default game, but of course it is nice idea.

I have only one question:
- Lets say that one refinery will add 10 BP, for example.
- I will build 10x refinery (100 BP).
- I will build 10x another building (cost 10 BP each, so 0 BP left).
- Aliens will destroy 10 refinery (-100 BP).
- Now I need to build 11 refinery when I want to build anything?

Each refinery adds 10 BP but it costs 10 BP? Or I didn't understand.
Fixed for you.

It's Santa Claus!  :D well so refinery is a building which gives bp. now i understood lol

Offline Gunther #6 on: December 07, 2012, 05:56:19 PM

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 245
  • Likes: 4
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
We do not plan this in default game, but of course it is nice idea.

I have only one question:
- Lets say that one refinery will add 10 BP, for example.
- I will build 10x refinery (100 BP).
- I will build 10x another building (cost 10 BP each, so 0 BP left).
- Aliens will destroy 10 refinery (-100 BP).
- Now I need to build 11 refinery when I want to build anything?

Each refinery adds 10 BP but it costs 10 BP? Or I didn't understand.
Fixed for you.

It's Santa Claus!  :D well so refinery is a building which gives bp. now i understood lol

Just go play Nalf's Refinery-something-something server.
Now you see me...now you don't...headshot

Offline ViruS #7 on: December 08, 2012, 09:01:12 AM

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 233
  • Likes: 1
    • View Profile
    • ZdrytchX's reference website, the tremulous-related link heaven.
    • Awards
Last thing i remembered before the refinery got its current bp system is that the server had a total of x bp [i think it was 1000 or something] and each extra refinery that the opponent doesnt have of those creep things "steals" bp off the alien team over time.. That was the old system though, which didn't work out very well.

But rotacak's problem, i think it existed last time i went to the server. refineries cost bp and we were pretty much screwed.
Quote from: lamefun
Therefore, Tremulous 2 might have the future (or might not, since it isn't developed by a corporations, depends on what Global Government will decide), but Unvarnished doesn't.
Quote from: Khaoz
Sucks to be those Unvarnished guys.

Offline BillyRazOr #8 on: December 14, 2012, 08:00:28 AM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Likes: 1
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • My Trem Mapping blogspot
    • Awards
Rotacak, if use refinery and it cost is 10bp, THIS IS VERY EXPENSIVE!!!!!

How about Refinery's cost for 4bp?

Offline Loki #9 on: December 14, 2012, 10:26:44 AM

  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 707
  • Likes: 3
  • Gender: Male
  • Awards
    2
    4
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Rotacak, if use refinery and it cost is 10bp, THIS IS VERY EXPENSIVE!!!!!

How about Refinery's cost for 4bp?

Refinery costs 10 BP but adds 100 BP.

Offline Rotacak #10 on: December 14, 2012, 02:14:25 PM

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 712
  • Likes: 14
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
It was just example. If I will lost 10 refinery and last armoury, then I need to build again 10 refinery and only after that I can build armoury again.

Offline Prophet #11 on: December 20, 2012, 04:53:22 PM

  • Junior
  • **
  • Posts: 84
  • Likes: 2
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Here's another idea to approach the refinery.  Instead of making it add BP (Which basically makes it UBP if you spam them, unless they're like repeaters), how about making it so it recovers lost BP faster.   For example, building one refinery would double BP regen, and next would make it 75%, increasing multiplicatively for each one after.

This would make the refinery a tool for recovering from alien rushes faster, and making them a target for aliens to go for during their own rushes.

Offline Nomad #12 on: December 20, 2012, 09:44:20 PM

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
  • Likes: 2
  • Gender: Male
  • Awards
    1
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Here's another idea to approach the refinery.  Instead of making it add BP (Which basically makes it UBP if you spam them, unless they're like repeaters), how about making it so it recovers lost BP faster.   For example, building one refinery would double BP regen, and next would make it 75%, increasing multiplicatively for each one after.

This would make the refinery a tool for recovering from alien rushes faster, and making them a target for aliens to go for during their own rushes.


The BPs are not going to regen, right? The game will have the 1.1 gameplay.

Offline ^3Pikachu #13 on: December 21, 2012, 09:01:07 AM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Likes: 1
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Rota, are you going to make use of Unreal's mutator system?

Offline Rotacak #14 on: December 21, 2012, 01:14:26 PM

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 712
  • Likes: 14
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Rota, are you going to make use of Unreal's mutator system?
Can you explain it more?